Gaecheonjeol

For the second time in less than a week, Korea is observing a holiday.
October 3 marks National Foundation Day (Gaecheonjeol in Korean), an observance that commemorates the founding of Korea in 2333 B.C.  For many families, the three-day Chuseok (Thanksgiving) holiday extended to five days. Our university was closed on Monday, open on Tuesday, and closed again on Wednesday.

Traffic was crazy during the holiday weekend.  Highways became parking lots as more than 29 million of the nation’s 50 million people traveled home for family reunions and to pay tribute to ancestors.  Trains, buses, and planes were also packed.  My husband and I traveled by train on Sunday.  It seemed that nearly everyone was carrying holiday gifts.

Typically, Chuseok and National Foundation Day are separated  by several days.  However, Chuseok is a floating holiday, based on a lunar calendar.  This year National Foundation Day took a back seat to the Korean Thanksgiving.

About Deb Sistrunk Nelson

I’m a journalist, communicator, educator, mom, and wife. Sometimes these different facets of my life collide and make for crazy conversation. I’m a news junkie and a voracious reader on virtually anything related to media. When I’m not writing for business or pleasure, I tutor kids and adults. I also teach English as a Second Language. It’s one of the great thrills of my life.

Posted on October 2, 2012, in Holidays, Observances and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi, I found you on a response you made to Subhan’s Indonesian blog and would be interested to learn about life in Korea. I look forward to reading more.

    • Welcome! You and I have something fabulous in common — Subhan. 🙂 Thanks for the kind words about my site. I’ve visited yours. I really like it and recommend it to others.

      I’m still learning about Korea. It’s nice to have others join me for the adventure.

Leave a Reply

